The Science of Scanning

After trying out every possible setting on Vuescan, I think I found some decent settings I can live with. I also found out that Tri-X scans much nicer than APX 100, I don’t know why, maybe APX 100 just isn’t a “scanner-friendly” film. For those who are interested: I developed the Tri-X at 20°C with Xtol diluted 1:1 for 8.45 minutes, moving every 30 seconds. I then scanned them as color negatives in RAW, black and white points set to 0, curve points set to 0.25 and 0.75. Played with the gamma modifier sometimes, but did most of the adjusting later in Lightroom.

I also decided to post some non-street stuff, just because I think some of the frames turned out nice. So you’ll get to peek into my private life now…

Santiago in the kitchen. I think it was the second day after he moved to Berlin, when he was still trying to figure out all that paper stuff. German bureaucracy…

Katja in the new apartment

Stumbled into her as I was about to leave the supermarket

We were trying to find something to eat around Oranienstr, but all the good restaurants were closed. It was a sunday, but still…It’s freaking Oranienstr!

Ended up in Miss Saigon, which served fantastic food that day.

While we were waiting for food, a group of French guys came in…

Weird position to chill, don’t you think?

Cake on the steps of a church.

 

With A. & P. at Madame Zucker.

I’ve seen this car around, they must have been painting it for several months now (and with a tiny brush). Dedication.

Panning shot while I waited for the bus.

5 Comments

Filed under ...

5 responses to “The Science of Scanning

  1. Love the quality of the photos :-)… great job.

    I have a short affair with film photography recently. Bought a used Nikon FE and regular film (kodak gold). But, in the end, I don’t think it’s right for me. The developing and scanning costs are just too expensive (I only have regular all-in-one printer with regular scanner, so I can’t scan them at home).

    Oh well :-)…

    • Thanks, man! Sad to hear that you gave up film. I agree, film and development do cost, but for me the process of shooting and developing are so rewarding. Also I shoot differently with film, more careful, I don’t have the urge to chimp which allows me to stay focused and don’t “waste” frames which I found myself doing with digital. And the moment you open your tank and pull out your negatives: Magic!🙂 I don’t have a good scanner either, I use a friend’s flatbed scanner, but for not it will do.

  2. Yes, it’s a regular scanner, which has a LED light for negatives, it’s the Canonscan 8800f. It works really well with medium format and color negs…

Leave a Reply

