I developed and scanned a few rolls before I left for Riga, I never got to post them until now.

Some of the stuff is from March and April, it seems like ages ago, it was still winter back then.

All photos shot in Berlin, on M6 and 35mm VC Nokton 1.4. Tri-X at boxspeed or ISO 800, developed in Xtol 1:1.

Scanned with Plustek 7600 and Silverfast

 

Inside the o2 arena. I took my sister to her first basketball game. 

 

It was a super exciting game, with overtime and whatnot. ALBA won and we were quite happy.

 

Katja and Anton at Tempelhof Park

 

View from double-decker bus.

 

A teen girl’s dream: shopping at Hollister

 

At the new shopping mall in Steglitz

 

 

 

Breakfast with Sandra at Ungeheuer. They have one of the best breakkies around.

 

Esther telling us about her apartment: ground floor with a yard only for her, hard to find these days for a reasonable price.

 

Windboarders at Tempelhof

 

We watched them for a while, later they taught us how to ride on these things.

 

On my way to Globetrotter, getting some stuff for the trips.

 

Took a peek into the newly opened mall, I usually avoid them, but sometimes they make for some nice backgrounds.

 

 

 

Outside Cafe Oliv

 

On my way to Foto Impex

 

Alexanderplatz

 

I remember that I was quite glad that I wouldn’t have to go through TXL airport anymore. Well, that didn’t work out so well, the billboard is gone now and we’ll have to wait at least one more year until the new airport opens. 

 

Waiting to pick up Rafaela.

 

I like the details in this one.

 

 

 

Sometimes, I don’t know why I take a photo, like this one, there was nothing special about it when I took it, just two women with their luggage. Only later on the screen did I see the repetition of lines. I sometimes wonder if it’s pure luck or the subconscious. 

 

Out of focus Mitte girls

 

Choosing presents at Gestalten shop

 

Some ad for a tv show

 

We were in the middle of the runway at Tempelhof park when a storm came up.

 

No exit nearby and no umbrella, we got soaking wet.

 

After the rain.

 

You could make an entire series about those slogans printed on these bags.

 

Moving one

 

Second breakfast at Silberlöffel

 

At Neues Museum

 

Couldn’t decide which one I liked better. “A photographer is his own worst editor”.

 

Didn’t trust the lightmeter and overexposed. Should have trusted.

 

Turkish wedding photography

 

On Oranienstr at sunset

 

Monika, she runs Cafe Bajka. Got a really nice response from her when she recognized herself on one of my photos, and I gave her a print. Her cafe is really cute and cozy, so pay her a visit when you’re around Weichselstr.

 

Moving two

 

Waiting to cross Sonnenallee

 

A couple of shots from the filmset I was working on. Jude, 2nd AD on the left and Jenny, continuity & script. Moving the monitor table from Monbijoupark to Hackescher Markt.

 

Tiff, production supervisor

 

Tiff and Volker, Set PA

 

Setting up the steadycam

 

Focus puller in front, Berliner Dom in the back.

 

Ray, 2nd AD. One of the nicest and busiest person on set.

 

Field editing and video checking in the tunnel.

 

Kevin and Philipp, line producers

 

Tiff at work

 

Makeshift office

 

Moving the RED Epic to the next location

 

Another day, another location. 

 

Camera B Unit

 

It was superwindy and we were all freezing.

 

And I was the only one who was excited that we were shooting in my neighborhood.

 

Goerlitzer Park

 

Textures

 

Met Adde Adesokan on a photo walk, talented and super friendly guy. You might know his photo series Triptychs of Strangers.

 

Oranienstr

 

Not much happening on a sunday morning

 

Mauerpark

 

 

 

Adde and Luis (from Lisbon), another really nice guy and street shooter I met that weekend.

 

Left over emotional intelligence

29 Comments

Filed under ...

29 responses to “

  1. I love the quote “A photographer is his own worst editor”. It’s so true.

    • I forgot who said that in the beginning, but I think it’s true, at least for me, I find it incredibly hard to edit/select my own stuff.

  2. I’m always excited when you post stills from a completed campaign.

  3. ashleypatterson21

    I have checked your blog about 5 times between your last post and this one. Great pics :) I have a question though, why did you use an ISO800 roll when it creates so much noise in the picture?

    • Aw, that’s sweet, I’ll kept on postponing publishing this entry, because I wasn’t very happy with it. Something went wrong during developing, that’s why the images show so much noise, even at 400. I like shooting at 800 because I find it that the contrast get’s a little bit more punch, I also shoot it when I know that I’ll be inside (in low light) that day.

  4. Klara! Your photos are so beautiful. I love trawling through your posts!
    They give me the worst kind of cabin fever – can’t wait to get traveling overseas again. Thanks for sharing your view of the world.
    Kate

  5. Kat

    I always love seeing your new posts. Your photos are very evocative.

  6. Very inspiring. I always like to see you new collection of daily impressions. Interesting to read, that you met Erik Kim.

    • Thanks, I know my entries have shifted from pure street photo entries to more journal like stuff. It always makes me wonder who might be interested in these very random daily stuff other than my friends, so I’m glad that you enjoyed it. Meeting Eric was def interesting…

  7. Love your blog!! its so inspiring… I can’t wait to go away and get some photography done.. I love the wedding photo. great work :)

  8. magnitude and magic and straight forward beautiful canopy of photos! Thank you! A fan~Deborah

  9. Beautiful Imagery and composition :)

  10. I subscribe to your blog by email, and I always really look forward to your emails coming in. I usually wait until I know I have a little free time, then I make a cup of tea, sit down and and look at the photos properly.

    My favourite point is the background depth you capture in your photos. I noticed all my photos tend to have flat, or blocked backgrounds, but many of yours have small “windows” in them that trail off for miles. For example, the one with the man standing with bags outside the airport, the two Mitte girls, the TV show ad, the second breakfast, Tiff and Volker, and even the choosing present photos… there is a main subject, but there is a small “window” where we can see a background trailing off for miles into the distance. I absolutely love that, it makes the whole world seem much bigger than the photo. Which is so exciting because your world is so cool and so different from mine!

    Anyway, I really like it. Thank you so much for taking the time to assemble these mails and send them out!

    • Thanks Graeme, this is one of the nicest things someone said in the commets. Maybe even more because I used to and still do the same thing when I visit some of my favorite blogs. Just like you, I make myself something to drink and go through the images with a lot of time and I keep marveling for minutes when I look at certain pictures. I guess, it’s what I like about these long blog entries, that I can dive into another person’s world, just like with a good book.

      It’s funny that you notice the background depth, I used to shoot pictures with blocked backgrounds until I discovered that I like opening up the background. Now I’m getting a little bored with this kind of style and I’m trying to change it up again a little, it’s not so easy as it has already become second nature… So I guess, I’ll be shooting like this for more than a while and you’ll probably have more “windows” to look at here … :)

      Thanks again for taking the time so comment so elaborately.

      • It’s cool, a long post once a month really makes it feel like an old school magazine coming in through the door. Everything seems to be daily now, I think monthly might be the new way to go!

        I’ve always taken blocked background photos. I haven’t used my camera for a long time, but if you are giving up the style, I might try my hand at it! Ha ha ha!

  11. Love your b/w photography and your take on life and street pics

  12. woodyelise

    Hi Klara,
    I’m along time fan, no, student of your very special vision of “street life”, and the way you capture the emotion of the scene as well as the scene itself. I do my studies of your work with a cup of coffee rather than tea. A mentor of mine once shared his “mantra” for working on the street. “See the light…What attracts me? ….Slow Down…..Move in……Work it…….and Give it a rest.” I have this taped to the back of my camera lest I forget. With your work as inspiration, I’m back out on the streets more than ever.
    Thanks
    Woody

  13. WOW……really congrats, your photo are an incredible ispiration!!!!!!!!!!!!!! beautiful, awesome….. i’m new follower !

  14. Once again, your work never disappoints. Excellent.

    Your story-telling is one of the best parts of your blog. Rather than the usual blogging dribble that most people (including myself) put out, each of your posts is narrative. Your words are generally well-chosen. I would, however, perhaps include fewer shots. I think by editing out a few of the repetitive or less interesting shots, the really strong ones would shine through even more. But that’s just my opinion, coming from a guy with a blog that can’t hold a candle to yours.

    Keep it up.

    • You’re right, I could make a tighter edit of the photos. Honestly every time before I post an entry, I’m a little bit torn between showing only the strong images and showing a lot more for my friends / family / work mates. A lot of pictures might not seem interesting out of context, but I think I’ll keep it like a diary/journal for now. Thanks for taking your time to comment every time I post and your encouraging words.

  15. Pingback: Klara's Street | stFOTO | Scoop.it

  16. Pingback: (no title) | StreetShooter | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

