TXL-VIE-HAM-TXL

I’ve been to Vienna and the Austrian countryside, to Hamburg for the Saul Leiter exhibition, and my sister visited me in Berlin. There are a bunch of private shots in this entry besides the usual street shots, also it’s a bit longer than the posts before, I posted about 1/4 of the photos I took. All daylight shots are Tri-X at boxspeed or ISO 800, night shots were pushed to ISO 1600, developed in Xtol 1:1.

WordPress does something weird to my files, it renders the shadows brighter than the original uploads, so the deep darks look washed out, hope to find a way to work around it soon. If any of you WordPressers know how to fix this, let me know.

Starting off in Berlin. Yvonne choosing snacks before going to the cinema.

The movie I worked on premiered at the film festival.

She asked me what I was shooting and I told her that I was testing the light meter. It was true.

That time of year. Parents with their kids queuing to buy a Spiderman/Batman whatever costume.

He got to be a Jedi this year.

OMP concert. They play on toy instruments, they’re crazy and fantastic.

At Ryan’s, he was telling me about his business plans here.

Waiting for the flight to Vienna

Testing overexposure +2 stops.

Happy to get away from the shitty weather in Berlin.

Boarding

Arrived in Vienna

The next day at Rafaela’s, Pumpkin on the table.

One of the hardest things to focus on with a rangefinder: fast moving cats.

Some serious talkin’ going on.

Later at the parents’ house, Romana in the back. Something sad happened that day, it felt surreal for everybody. I can’t remember if Rafaela laughed for the camera or if it was a genuine moment.

We went for a walk, everyone watched Emil as he ran around between the trees.

The sunlight was nice that day.

Lower Austria

Dominik found some pieces of wood

Telling me about wood cutting techniques

The next day, Emil getting some treats

Chillin on the trampoline

Romana “stole” the camera for this frame

Romana and Linde

This was new. Dancing to Osho. It does make you feel better.

Dozing off with Bonzo at my feet

Next morning, Axel and Bonzo. Some lovin’ going on there.

At breakfast

Dominik trying to “ruin” my shot, he knows I don’t like them staged.

Stefan and Judith peeling their eggs, Linde comforting Rafaela

We went to see the grandparents

One of the few frames where it shows that everybody was sad.

Stefan and Judith were freshly in love. They cheered everybody up.

Dominik recently bought a house and we went to have a look.

Behind the house

Dominik: “I know what makes a good shot!”

The auto-crop of the scanner cuts a bit too much of the frames.

Lovebirds

Austrian rail

Vienna

Waited a bit for only one person to appear, didn’t happen.

He caught me there.

Vienna is brightly illuminated at night, Berlin seems so dark in comparison.

It was completely dark by now and I almost missed her.

Inside a Chinese restaurant

Cafe Aida

Hello Mr. Mozart

Cafe Diglas

It was already spring in Vienna, the ice cream shops were open.

Here’s an example of a failed shot (because someone asked). I was waiting for the person in the back of the frame to come closer, I liked the spot of light in the center, I thought it might look good together with the shape of the coat. I noticed too late that somebody on the left was about to enter the frame and block the entire scene, you can see part of his arm on the left. I released and that’s the only shot I got.

An interactive video game at the platform

They all caught me there.

Vienna airport

Closing time

Waiting for the flight to Berlin

Stewardess announcing the safety measures

The next day I went to Hamburg and met up with my sister.

Docklands

We shoot film and use oldschool maps.

We went to see the Saul Leiter exhibition, it blew our minds.

Deichtorhallen

My sister, I think she perfected the art of power-napping.

Waiting for the ferry.

Beach at Oevelgoenne

It was cold, we covered up in blankets, listened to the wind and raised our cameras once in while.

On the ferry

Back in Berlin, bright and sunny. After I developed this frame I finally ordered a lens hood.

My sister at Friedrichswerderscher Kirche.

The church has been turned into a museum, quite nice in there.

Security guard

Walking back towards Unter den Linden

I’m never much around here, except when my sister visits, she loves this area

Just raised the camera and released, no time to adjust shutter speed, he was quite fast on his skateboard

Urban guardening area at Tempelhofer Park

My sister, she’s whistling

The offical name for the park is Tempelhofer Freiheit

Another failed attempt, released way too early

My sister: “I stood there in case they would yell at you, you could’ve said that you’re taking a picture of me”.

Well, I didn’t get yelled at (I rarely do), but I’m glad she watches out for me.

21 Comments

Filed under ...

21 responses to “TXL-VIE-HAM-TXL

  1. Awesome photos! I love B&W. I really enjoyed this post. I lived in Berlin from 1974 – 1976.

  2. stunning shots, love them all

  3. i like theTesting overexposure +2 stops one and the Chinese restaurant one.

  4. what a beautiful post, klara. i always enjoy your photographs. cheers from philadelphia!

  5. Philo•fancy

    beautiful, beautiful

  6. beautiful pictures and interesting stories

  7. i love your photos. and i enjoy reading the captions too. thanks for sharing!

  8. amazing showcase of street photos, thank you for sharing, such an inspiration.

  9. Pingback: some new film shots IV & some inspiration « a day in the life

  10. Anne

    so many gorgeous shots. The “Dancing to Osho” being my fav.

  11. Kat

    I can’t get enough of your photos. They are so evocative. I feel I’m in the middle of a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing them.

  12. Wow I really like your street shots. Tri-X is such a wonderful film and I enjoy using it as well. Do you chance the ILFORD HP5 much? I was reading about your issues with wordpress and I have to be honest I have never noticed before but you could be right. I do not know of a fix but one thing you may try is load the photo into flickr and embed the link into a post side by side of the same photograph that you load into wordpress database file so they show up together and see if the tones are the same. Besides that I have nothing else to offer. My issue with wordpress was the size and cropping issues with most of their themes, which is why I ultimately decided to host my own site (using wordpress theme) no issues. ~ John

    • I used to shoot HP5 quite a bit when I was still using a SLR, I like the tonality and how it renders the grain. I’ve been using Tri-X exclusively for the past year, it’s such a versatile and (very forgiving) film, I like it a lot when pushed with Xtol (even at boxspeed). I think I’ll stick to it until I feel that I know this film and developer combination by heart, well probably in summer I’ll shoot some APX 100 (Rollei Retro). Thanks for the tips with wordpress, I’ll try what you suggested and let you know. Thanks for stopping by and keep the love for film. Cheers, K.

  13. The lonesomeness of waiting at the airport, the great Vienna nights & your amazing eye is just soulfood. What a wild & beautiful ride, Klara. Can’t find any rest even after turning off the computer. A brilliant essay full of little treasures. Each of them.

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

  14. I am completely addicted to your beautiful photography. I wish I could take shots like yours! Haha. (Also, just to let you know, I gave your blog a little nod on my site. :) http://bit.ly/Ig59sY)

  15. sanclementejedi

    Wow those are some amazing looking shots. I also enjoyed checkign out your blog. Stopped by after reading about your site via Rae @ cuttingedgecreativity

  16. Todd Materazzi Photography

    I have been following this blog for some time (Great B&W work!!) and would like to nominate you for a Sunshine Blogger Award!

    http://titaniumphoto.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/the-sunshine-blogger-award/

    All the best :)
    Todd

  17. Wonderful photos, full of atmosphere – a kind of suspension of time, because I think most are caught-movement – as though stepping out of time.

    Amazing to see just how clean everywhere is: no litter, very little graffiti… no homeless in doorways, either. Hmm….

  18. Amazing post with so many great pictures. It´s a shame that i didn´t see your blog before.
    So i know what i´ll do tomorrow.
    Greetings from Dortmund.

Leave a Reply

